Spring 2018 Concert

Saturday 24th March 2018 at 7.30pm

At Eton College School Hall

KABALEVSKY - Overture: Colas Breugnon
BEETHOVEN - Piano Concerto No 3
MAHLER - Symphony No 1

Piano: Rebecca Leung (Winner, WMSO Young Musician's Competition 2016)

The Windsor & Maidenhead Symphony Orchestra invite you to the second of this season's concerts; an exciting evening of music in the glorious surrounds of Eton College School Hall. This programme sees three great and contrasting works by celebrated composers spanning over a century in musical history.

Colas Breugnon (also known as The Master-Craftsman of Clamecy) is the first of five operas written by Kabalevsky, premiering in 1938. Based on the novel by Romain Rolland, it tells the story of a sixteenth-century master carpenter and craftsman in Burgundy. While the opera is not a mainstream work, the overture has become very popular as a concert item, undoubtedly because of its melodies (both catchy and lyrical), lively rhythms and bright orchestral colour.

We are delighted to be welcoming our own 2016 Young Musicians' Competition winner, pianist Rebecca Leung to perform Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3. Known also as Beethoven’s “middle” piano concerto (the third of five), it is thought to form a bridge between his classical and romantic approaches to this genre.

We end our Spring concert with Maher’s First Symphony. With an opening that is described as one of the most spellbinding moments of symphonic inspiration in the 19th century, and a final movement that, through all its drama, finds sheer uninhibited musical joy, we hope you will share this evening of moments with us.

Tickets: £15 (gallery), £12.50 (main hall), £5.00 (student/child), under 12s free
Available from the Box Office